we go places

we go places

Hillarie Parungao is Miss World Philippines 2015

Hillarie Parungao is Miss World Philippines 2015
Photos by Melvin Sia & Jay Patao

A 24-year-old registered nurse from Solano, Nueva Vizcaya won the 5th Miss World Philippines Pageant in coronation rites held at The Theatre of Soliare in ParaƱaque City last Sunday, besting 25 other contestants from all over the country and earning the right to represent the Philippines at the 65th Miss World Pageant scheduled in Sanya, China on December 19.

Hillarie Danielle Ang Parungao, a BS Nursing graduate of Alders Gate College in Solano, Nueva Vizcaya and a recent Nursing Board Exams passer, nailed the coveted title. She was crowned by last year’s winner Valerie Weigmann, Miss World 2013 Megan Young (who sat in the panel of judges) and Miss World national director Cory Quirino.

Standing 5’5” and measuring a svelte 32-23-34, Hillarie also took home the lion’s share of special and corporate awards including Best in Swimsuit, Best in Long Gown, Fashion Runway winner and Sports Challenge winner.

During the final question-and-answer round, Hillarie was asked what her philosophy in life was and she smartly replied: “My philosophy in life is compassion because it can open doors and challenges in life that we can resolve so that we can progress as a society…it enables us to understand people so that we can evolve to become a better society.”

Last September 13, Hillarie staged the “Run Against Child Mortality” fundraising event in Solano for the benefit of the Katuwang Project which she initiated to eradicate child mortality and to create awareness about the health needs of children in Nueva Vizcaya.

Rounding up the winning circle were: Marita Cassandra Kim Naidas, 24, from Antipolo City, 1st Princess; Mia Allyson Hernandez Howell, 24, representing Catanduanes, 2nd Princess; Vanessa Alice Topacio Wright, 18, from Cainta, Rizal, 3rd Princess; and Emma Mary Francisco Tiglao, 20, from Mabalacat City, 4th Princess.

Completing the first cut of 13 semi-finalists were: Ma. Jackielyn Mapoy Dulay, Vianca Louise Rivera Marcelo, Christelle Anjali Abello, Janie Loudette Vicencio Alipo-on, Jessica Rose

Mangalindan McEwen, Jeddahliz Armas Maltezo, Janelle Lazo Tee and Kiaragiel Hamlig Gregorio.
The panel of judges also included former senator Juan Miguel Zubiri; former Ilocos Sur governor Luis “Chavit” Singson; Venezuelan actor Fernando Carrillo; Bench founder and CEO Ben Chan; Col. Ricardo Nolasco of Hannah Beach Resort and Convention Center; and hospitality headhunter, traner and consultant Vic Alcuaz.

No comments:

Post a Comment